SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 


BIOLOGY: TAXONOMY RESOURCES




Resources on kingdom, phylum, order, family, genus, species, sub species, to the phyla of the earth.

Contents: Eureka Catalog
General
Animalia
Bacteria
Fungi
Plantae
Protocotista
Protocotista
Viruses
Journals
Indexes to Journal Literature
Related Research Guides
Search Engines
Library Home Page

EUREKA

Use the EUREKA Computer Catalog to find books when you know the author, title or LC subject heading for a book.
Return to top of the page

GENERAL
Biology & Life Science searching    http://www.Vadlo.com
Biosis Search Guide  Index Area 2 North QHZ 13.3 B53 2001-2003
Encyclopedia of Life  http://www.eol.org/
Five Kingdoms: An Illustrated Guide to the Phyla of Life on Earth  ref QH 83 M36 1998
Henderson’s Dictionary of Biological Terms; 11th ed.  ref QH 302.5 H65 1995
IT IS (Integrated Taxonomic Information System - all 5 kingdoms)    http://www.itis.gov/
The Official World Wildlife Fund Guide to Endangered Species of North America.
     v. 1-4. Includes animals and plants.
  ref QL 84.2 O35 1990
Science Friday/NPR - videos   http://www.sciencefriday.com/feeds/video/
     free online videos on all things science; including biology
Science.gov (Washington, D.C.    http://www.science.gov/
Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms. (1982) v.1-2   ref QH 83 S89
Tree of Life web project   http://tolweb.org/tree/
Return to top of the page

ANIMALIA
Beacham’s Guide to International Endangered Species.  ref QL 82 B435 1998 v. 1-2
The Bees of the World   ref QL 566 M53 2000
The Bird Almanac: The Ultimate Guide to Essential Facts & Figures of the World's Birds
    ref QL 673 B565 1999
Birds of North America: Life Histories for the 21st Century
     ref QL 681 B625 v.1-date; 1992-date
Check-list of North American Birds: The Species of Birds of North America from
      the Arctic through Panama, Including the West Indies and Hawaiian Islands, 6th ed.

     ref QL 677 A5 1983
A Classification of Living Animals   ref QL 352 R6
Classification of Mammals Above the Species Level    ref QL 708 M38 1997
Common and Scientific Names of Aquatic Invertebrates from the United States and
     Canada: Mollusks; 2nd ed
   ref QL 411 C65 1998
Common and Scientific Names of Fishes from the United States,Canada and Mexico, 6th ed
     ref QL 618 C66 2004
Common Names of Mammals of the World   ref QL 708 W45 2000
Dolphins, Porpoises and Whales of the World: The IUCN Red Data Book.
     ref QL 737 C4 K54 1991
Encyclopedia of Mammals   ref QL 703 E53 2001 v. 1-3
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals    ref QL 713.2 E53 2009
Endangered Wildlife of the World  ref QL 83 E55 1993 v.1-11
European Register of Marine Species   http://www.marbef.org/
A Field Guide to Insects of America North of Mexico   ref QL 464 B65
Fishes of the World; 3rd ed   ref QL 618 N4 1994
Guide to Marine Mammals of the World   ref QL 713.2 N37 2002
How to Know the Beetles; 2nd ed.   ref QL 583 J3 1980
The IUCN Amphibia-Reptilia Red Data Book. Part 1: Testudines, Crocodylia,
     Rhynchocephalia
   ref QL 88 I68 1982 v.1
Light’s Manual: Intertidal Invertebrates of the Central California Coast.
    ref QL 164 L53 1989
Mammal Species of the World   http://vertebrates.si.edu/mammals/msw/
Mammalian Species   http://www.science.smith.edu/departments/Biology/VHAYSSEN/msi/
Mammalian Species. no. 1/1969-current  ref QL 700 A4
Marine Invertebrates of the Pacific Northwest   ref QL 138 K68 1987
Marine Mammals of the World: Systematics and Distribution   ref QL 713.2 R515 1998
New International Wildlife Encyclopedia   ref QL 9 B8 1980 v.1- 21
Nomenclator Zoologicus: A list of the Names of Genera & Subgenera in Zoology
      from the Tenth Edition of Linnaeus 1758 to the end of 1935 & supplements
      through 1965
  ref QL 345 N4 v.1-7 [1939-1975]
Orders and Families of Recent Mammals of the World   ref QL 703 O73 1984
Primate Taxonomy.  ref Ql 737 P9 G86 2001
Sealife: A Complete Guide to the Marine Environment   ref QL 121 s43 1996
Spiders of the World   ref QL 452 P72 1993
Walker’s Bats of the World   ref QL 737 C5 N69 1994
Walker’s Mammals of the World; 6th ed   ref QL 703 N68 1999 v.1-2
Walker's Marine Mammals of the World   ref QL 713.2 N69 2003
Walker’s Primates of the World   ref QL 737 P9 N66 1999
A World List of Mammalian Species; 3rd ed   ref QL 708 C67 1991
WoRMS/World Register of Marine Species  http://www.marinespecies.org/
Zoological Record Search Guide   Index Area 2 North QL Z 7991 Z6 1978-97 vol.115-133
Zoological Record: Section 20. List of New Taxonomic Names.
     Index Area 2 North  QL Z 7991 Z87
Return to top of the page

BACTERIA:(PROKARYOTAE, PROCARYOTAE, MONERA)
Approved Lists of Bacterial Names. Amended Edition    ref QR 81 A77 1989
The Archaea and the Deeply Branching & Phototropic Bacteria, 2nd ed.
     ref QR 81 B46 2001 v.1
Bergey’s Manual of Systematic Bacteriology   ref QR 81 B46 1984 v.1-4
Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology   ref QR 9 D47 2004
Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 2nd rd   ref QR 9 E53 2000 v.1-4
Handbook of Microbiology   ref QR 41 J12 (1960)
Index of the Bacterial and Yeast Nomenclatural Changes   ref QR 81 M672 1992
NCBI Taxonomy Home Page
    Contains the names of all organisms that are represented in the genetic databases
     with at least one nucleotide or protein sequence
     http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Taxonomy/taxonomyhome.html
Supplement to Index Bergeyana   ref QR 81 I5 Supp
Return to top of the page

FUNGI: (Mycota: 2 divisions Myxomycota & Eumycota) also: Plantae (classed there before)
(Bread moulds, yeasts, mushrooms, toadstools, lichens)

Catalogus Lichenum Universalis   ref QK 583 Z3 1940 v.1-10
Dictionary of the Fungi, 9th ed.   ref Qk 600.35 A35 2001
European Bioinformatics Institute, EMBL-EBI   http://www.ebi.ac.uk/interpro/ISearch?query=fungi
The Fabulous Fungi/NPR Science Friday Podcast
     http://www.sciencefriday.com/program/archives/200809124
The Fungi: an Advanced Treatise   QK 603 A52 v.1-4 B
Illustrated Dictionary of Mycology   ref QK 600.35 U4313 2000
Yeasts: Characteristics and Identification   QK 617.5 B39 1983

Return to top of the page

PLANTAE
Carnivorous Plants: Care & Cultivation.   ref SB 432.7 L43 1990
Chemotaxonomy of Flowering Plants   ref QK 95 G46 v.1-4. [1974]
Family Names in Current Use for Vascular Plants, Bryophytes, and Fungi, NCU-7
      ref QK 96 F35 1993
Grays Manual of Botany   ref QK 117 G75 1988
A California Flora   ref QK 149 M79
Flora of Southern California   ref QK 149 M795
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees   ref QK 747.87 M67 2003
Illustrated Flora of the Pacific States: Washington, Oregon, and
     California
   ref QK 143 A3 v.1-4
Index Kewensis: An Enumeration of the Genera and Species of Flowering
     Plants [Linnaeus to the year 1885]
   ref QK 11 I4 v.1-2, Supp. 1-16.
International Code of Botanical Nomenclature (Tokyo Code)   ref QK 96 I584 1994
Jackson Creek Middle School-Plants & Classification
     http://www.mccsc.edu/~kmcglaun/bacteria/btop.htm
The Jepson Desert Manuel: Vascular Plants of Southeastern California
    ref QK 149 J58 2002
The Jepson Manual: Higher Plants of California   ref QK 149 J56 1993
Manual of Woody Landscape Plants: Their Identification, Ornamental Characteristics,
      Culture, Propagation and Use, 5th ed.
  ref SB 435.5 D57 1998
Names in Current Use for Extant Plant Genera, NCU-3   ref QK 96 N35 1993
1997 IUCN Red List of Threatened Plants   ref QK 86 A1 I936 1997
Repertorium Plantarum Succulentarum   QK 96 R4 v.1-14,16,20-22 1950-
Trees & Shrubs of California   ref QK 149 S73 2001
Vascular Plant Families and Genera   ref QK 97 V33 1992
Water Plants of the World   ref QK 105 W37 [1974]
Weeds of the West   ref SB 612 W4 W4 1999
Western Weeds: Additions, Deletions & Name Changes
     http://members.iinet.net.au/~weeds/ww_update.pdf
Return to top of the page

PROTOCOTISTA (PROTISTA) also: Plantae (classed there until recently)
(Algae, water moulds, diatoms, slime moulds & protozoa [also classed in the animal kingdom])

Classification of Algae: Where Do They Fit In?
     http://www.botany.uwc.ac.za/algae/StudentAssignments/JanusGoulding96/
Marine Algae of California   ref QK 571.5 C2 M37
Names of Classes and Families of Living Algae   QK 567 S45 [1980]
Protists Information Server  http://protist.i.hosei.ac.jp/Protist_menuE.html
Return to top of the page

VIRUSES
(Since viruses do not have cells they are not included in the five kingdoms listed above,whose members do possess cells)

Classification and Nomenclature of Viruses. Monographs in Virology, v.5
     ref QR 360 I415 [1971]
A Classification of the Major Groups of Human and Other Animal Viruses, 4th ed.
      ref QR 360 W52 1969
Encyclopedia Of Virology, 2nd ed.  ref QR 358 E53 1999 v.1-3
International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses (ICTV)
     http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ICTVdb/Images/
Virus and Rickettsial Classification and Nomenclature.  Q 11 N5 v.56 art.3
Virus Taxonomy Online  http://www.virustaxonomyonline.com
The Viruses: Catalogue, Characterization, and Classification.  ref QR 394 F73 1985

Return to top of the page

JOURNALS
Systematic Biology  (v.41:1 1992 May-current)
     (Society of Systematic Biologists) Formerly Systematic Zoology
Systematic Zoology   (v.1-40, 1952-1991)
     (Society of Systematic Zoologists)
Taxon   (v. 1-44. 1951-1995)
     (Journal of the International Association for Plant Taxonomy)
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE
Paper
  • Biological & Agricultural Index  (1931-32;1945-1999)
    Index Area 2 North & Lower Level   SZ 5073 A46
  • Biological Abstracts  (1926 - 1995)
    Index Area 2 North & Lower Level QH 301 B37
  • Zoological Record  (1870-current)
    Index Area 2 North   QLZ 7991 Z87
Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
Return to top of the page

RELATED CSUS RESEARCH GUIDES

Additional Biology Guides and Guides on other subjects are available from the complete list of CSUS Library Research Guides.

Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES
Ananzi.com  http://www.ananzi.com/
Google Scholar  http://scholar.google.com/  (ranks and links information)
Yahoo  http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com  http://www.vivisimo.com  
    (Searches other search engines, groups information into categories)

A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian.; eheaser@csus.edu
EH/DR Last updated 5/09