Nutrition & Food
compiled by Deborah Metzger
Reference Sources Food Composition Tables Cookbooks Internet Sites
There are many topics within the categories of food and nutrition, therefore many possible search terms.
Use the categories below as a guide for browsing the shelves...
GN 407 - 410 Food-Anthropology GT 2855 - 2920 Foods-Manners and Customs QP 141 - 185 Physiology - Nutrition RM 214 -259 Diet in disease and diet therapy TP 368 - 465 Food processing and manufacture TP 500-659 Chemical technology (wine, beer, spirits) TX 341 - 946.5 Home economics, nutrition, foods, cookbooks
Use the EUREKA Library Catalog to look up books by author, title or specific subject headings. Some useful
LC Subject headings are listed below. Or try a keyword search and then review the entries
for an appropriate subject heading.
amino acids food adulteration and inspection menus anorexia nervosa food-composition-tables metabolism carbohydrates food consumption nutrition disorders cardiovascular system-diseases-nutritional aspects food habits obesity children-nutrition food industry and trade proteins cholesterol food supply trace elements cookery gastronomy vegetarianism deficiency diseases infants-nutrition vitamins diet in disease malnutrition weight reducing preparations
return to top
General Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Cambridge world history of food, Ref TX 353 .C255 2000 Encyclopedia of food microbiology Ref QR 115 .E53 2000 Encyclopedia of food science and technology Ref TP 368.2 .E62 2000 vol.1-4 The Oxford companion to food Ref TX 349 .D38 1999 The world encyclopedia of food Ref TX 349.C69 1982
Food Habits, Manners & Customs
Cultural foods : traditions and trends Ref TX 725 .A1 K545 2000 CultureGrams, Ref GT 150 .C85 Melting pot: an annotated bibliography and guide to food and nutrition information for ethnic groups in America. Ref TXZ 5776.F7 W5 Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life Ref GN 333 .W67 1998
Bowes and Church's food values of portions commonly used, Ref TX 551 .B64 1998 Composition of foods, [US] Ref TX 541 .C6 Composition of foods [British] Ref TX 531 .M2 2002 Fast food facts : nutritive and exchange values for fast-food restaurants Ref TX 551 .F74 1990 The NutriBase nutrition facts desk reference Ref TX 551 .N75 2001 Recommended dietary allowances Ref TX 551 .N38 1989
Food & nutrition encyclopedia, Ref TX 349 .F575 1994 Nutrition in sport Ref QP 141 .N793 2000 Food additives, nutrients & supplements A-to-Z : a shopper's guide Ref TX 553 .A3 R47 1999 Metabolism [Altman] Ref QP 141 .A63 PDR for nutritional supplements, Ref RM 671 .A1 P481 2001 Encyclopedia of human nutrition, Ref QP 141 .E526 Handbook of pediatric nutrition, Ref RJ 206 .H23 1999 Eating disorders : nutrition therapy in the recovery process, Ref RC 552 .E18 R52 1999 CRC desk reference for nutrition, Ref QP 141 .B523 1998 Manual of clinical dietetics, Ref RM 216 .M29 2000
American Breweries. Ref TP 573.U6B81984 The dictionary of beer and brewing. Ref TP 568 .D53 1998 Oxford companion to wine, Ref TP 548 .O76 1999
Note: cookbooks can not only give you recipes, they often have valuable information on the customs, manners and culture of the country from which the cookbook originates. This list is a small sample of what we own.
Asia, the beautiful cookbook ; authentic recipes from Japan, Korea, China, the Philippines, Thailand, Laos and Kampuchea, Vietnam, Singapore and Malaysia, India, Burma, Indonesia and Sri Lanka Reserve Book Room TX 724.5 .A1 P37 1992 At the Japanese table TX 724.5 .J3 H6697 2000 Czechoslovak culture : recipes, history, and folk arts E 184 .B67 C927 1989 From the lands of figs and olives : over 300 delicious and unusual recipes from the Middle East and North Africa TX 725 .A7 S23 1995 The Healthy heart cookbook RC 684 .D5 H43 1992 Island cooking : recipes from the Caribbean TX 716 .A1 H37 1988 More from the gluten-free gourmet : delicious dining without wheat RM 237.86 .H34 1994 Traditional Korean food, TX 724.5 .K65 T73 2001
Identify them by using one of the following indexes/abstracts. Most electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Once you have identified an interesting article, and know the name of the journal you want, use the Journal Locator List and/or the EUREKA Library Catalog to identify whether the journal is available in print or electronically. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Connecting to Library Databases from Off-Campus
Citation database from the National Agriculture Library, includes journal articles, book chapters, reports, etc. on anything related to agriculture. Some full text links.
Anthropological Index Online (1957-current)
Covers all aspects of anthropology. Based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The British Museum (Museum of Mankind)
Business Periodicals Index
Use for the business aspects of food. Useful headings include: food, frozen food industry, grocery trade, restaurants, supermarkets, specific foods or specific companies, nutrition.
eHRAF (Human Area Relations Files) i
This is an unique cross-cultural database. These materials are relevant to the various social science disciplines as well as the humanities and health sciences.
All aspects of education including children and nutrition, dietetics, eating habits, etc.
Good science coverage. Not full-text, but you can purchase articles
Infotrac: Expanded Academic (1980-current)
General interest database.
Searches Index Medicus from the National Library of Medicine, the largest database of medical and clinical biology information.
Sociological Abstracts (1963-current)
All aspects of sociology including feeding, family, diet etc.
Searches over 1,000 journals in science, medicine and technology. Usually quite technical and mostly full text.
Abstracts in Anthropology. (1970-2000) ref GN 11 .A15
Anthropological Literature. (1989-1999) ref GNZ 5112 .A43
Human relations area files. Library Media Center Microfiche 009998
Index to the Human Relations Area Files. Lower Level GNZ 7164 .S667 H86
Sage Race Relations Abstracts.(1975-1991, 1994-current) HMZ 7164
These are only a short sample of titles received at the CSUS Library. Journals that are also available via the Web or in one of the CSUS Library databases are in bold.
Journal of the American Dietetic Association
American Journal of Clinical Nutrition
American Journal of Physical Anthropology
Annals of Nutrition and Metabolism
Annals of the Association of American Geographers
C.R.C. Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition
JAMA, Journal of the American Medical Association
Journal of Anthropological Research
Journal of Comparative Family Studies
Journal of Food Science
Journal of Field Archaeology
Journal of Nutrition
Journal of Nutrition for the Elderly
Journal of School Health
- American Dietetic Association, http://www.eatright.org/
- Center for Science in the Public Interest, http://www.cspinet.org/
CSPI seeks to promote health through educating the public about nutrition and alcohol. Links to full text reports and to Nutrition Action Healthletter.
- Chef-2-Chef, Culinary Portal, http://chef2chef.net/
Winner of PC Magazines Editors' Choice award, this site has links to 30,000 sites, including a market place, food service, jobs, recipes, top 100 (of everything). Lot's of fun to browse.
- Epicurious, http://eat.epicurious.com/
From the folks at Gourmet Magazine and Bon Appetit: recipes, cookbook reviews, how-to, restaurant reviews; if it's about food you'll find it here.
- FAOSTAT, http://apps.fao.org/
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Statistical Databases on food balance sheets, Population, food aid shipments, production, etc. Also has links to the FAO.
- Fast Food Finder, http://www.olen.com/food/index.html
You provide your favorite fast food and the finder gives you the nutritional content including: calories, carbs, cholesterol, protein, etc.
- Food Analysis Tools http://spectre.ag.uiuc.edu/~food-lab/nat/
You provide the types of food and the NAT can give you an energy analysis based on your food intake, or a list of nutrients for specific tools. Great to determine if you are eating correctly and enough.
- Food and Nutrition Information Center, http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/index.html
The FNIC's mission is "to collect and disseminate information about food and human nutrition." Part of the USDA, this site has
- FoodLink, http://www.barc.usda.gov/bhnrc/cnrg/resech3.html
A computerized food data linkage system which links USDA survey foods to information on ingredients and commodities.
- Martindale's Health Science Guide-The Virtual Nutrition Center http://www-sci.lib.uci.edu/HSG/Nutrition.html
Covers the topics of food science, food management, cooking techniques and even recipes. Has links to dictionaries, nutrition calculators (~15,000), and conferences.
- Pew Initiative on Food and Biotechnology http://pewagbiotech.org/
"The Initiative produces reports and sponsors workshops and conferences to showcase the diverse points of view that recognized experts have on the broad array of topics relevant to the debate about agricultural biotechnology."
- Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2005, http://www.health.gov/dietaryguidelines/dga2005/document/pdf/DGA2005.pdf
From the U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services, USDA, "is a detailed scientific analysis that identifies key issues such as energy balance, the consequences of a sedentary lifestyle and the need to emphasize certain food choices to address nutrition."
- USDA/ARS Nutrient Data Laboratory, http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/foodcomp/
Includes the classic--USDA Nutrient database for Standard Reference, Release 14 which contains data for over 6,000 foods for up to 113 nutrients, in addition to other data sets for isoflavens, carotenoids, vitamin K, trans fatty acids among others. Often the easiest place to start when looking for nutrient information.
Return to CSUS Library Database Subject Guides
Send questions, comments or suggestions to: Deborah Metzger, Science Reference Librarian
Last revised on 8.13.03